5 Longest Serving Prime Ministers Of India

Jawaharlal Nehru

He was India's Prime Minister from August 15, 1947 to May 27, 1964, making him the country's longest-serving leader.

Indira Gandhi

Before being assassinated on October 31, 1984, she held two terms as prime minister. She is the only woman to have held the position of Prime Minister in India.

Manmohan Singh

He was Prime Minister from May 22, 2004, to May 26, 2014. He became the first Sikh to hold the office.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

He served as India's Prime Minister three times: first for 13 days in 1996, then for 13 months from 1998 to 1999, and finally from 1999 to 2004.

Narendra Modi

He became prime minister on May 26, 2014, and he has held the position ever since.


Read Next Story